Home News What’s Hot This Week – Tokyo Game Show

What’s Hot This Week – Tokyo Game Show

SHARE

The 2017 Tokyo Game Show (or TGS) began yesterday and will continue until September 24. Here are some of the highlights to expect at the expo.

Games to expect at Tokyo Game Show

Bandai Namco

Code Vein

Bandai Namco will showcase vampire-themed action RPG Code Vein, 2.5D fighting game Dragon Ball FighterZ, and anime-based third-person shooter Sword Art Online: Fatal Bullet at TGS.

Capcom

The Osaka-based developer/publisher will showcase action RPG Monster Hunter World, fighting game Marvel vs. Capcom: Infinite, handheld RPG Monster Hunter Stories, and Dead Rising 4: Frank’s Big Package (open-world survival horror Dead Rising 4’s PS4 version).

Speaking of survival horror, Capcom will also feature Resident Evil Revelations and Revelations 2 ports for the Switch, and Resident Evil 7: Biohazard Gold Edition, which will include previously released downloadable content and the upcoming End of Zoe DLC.

Dragon’s Crown Pro

Dragon's Crown Pro

There have been rumblings that Dragon’s Crown Pro, a PlayStation 4 port of the PS Vita’s Dragon’s Crown, will be announced during Atlus’ live stream for the event on September 24. Dragon’s Crown is an action RPG developed by Vanillaware that originally came out for the PS3.

Konami

Tokyo-based Konami revealed its TGS lineup and will have the following at its booth:

  • Metal Gear Survive
  • Super Bomberman R
  • Winning Eleven 2018
  • 100% Pascal-Sensei Kanpeki Paint Bombers
  • Jikkyou Pawafuru Puroyakyu
  • Love Plus Every
  • Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Links

Persona spinoffs

Persona 5: Dancing Star Night

Expect to hear more from upcoming Persona spinoffs such as Persona Q2 for the 3DS; Persona 3: Dancing Moon Night and Persona 5: Dancing Star Night, a couple of rhythm games for the PS4 and PS Vita; and perhaps if the rumored sequel to puzzle platformer Catherine really does exist.

Sega

Sega will host a number of playable games such as:

  • Hatsune Miku: Project Diva Future Tone DX
  • Sonic Forces
  • Yakuza Kiwami 2

Sega will also feature games from other game companies. This includes:

  • Infinite Combate
  • Is It Wrong to Try to Pick Up Girls in a Dungeon?
  • Shin Megami Tensei: Deep Strange Journey
  • Steins;Gate Elite

Square Enix

Square Enix will show off brawler/RPG hybrid Dissidia Final Fantasy NT, Final Fantasy XIV Online, Final Fantasy XV, and Itadaki Street Dragon Quest and Final Fantasy 30th Anniversary as playable titles at its booth.

Sony

As usual, Sony will hold a PlayStation press conference before the expo starts. Sony will stream the conference on September 19 at 4 PM JST (12am PT/3am ET/8am UK/5pm AET).

Detroit: Become Human

Sony also revealed it will have 21 playable games at its TGS booth, including:

  • Code Vein
  • Detroit: Become Human
  • Call of Duty: WWII
  • Dragon Ball FighterZ
  • Sword Art Online: Fatal Bullet
  • Dissidia Final Fantasy NT
  • Summer Lesson
  • The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim VR

The business days for Tokyo Game Show are on September 21 and 22. It will be open to the public on September 23 and 24.

SOURCEOriginal
SHARE
I'm Boss Royal's resident wordsmith and technophile.